My Favorite Movies of 2007

It’s that time of the year when the “best of…” lists come out. These are my favorites so far. I can only think of 5 stand-outs. (One or two may be technically from 2006, but I saw all of them in 2007).

1. Once (Ireland)

Very simple, and absolutely charming and uplifting. Out on DVD on December 18, 2007.

2. 3:10 to Yuma (USA)

Christian Bale is brilliant. A complex and mythical character study dressed up in the genre of the western.

3. After the Wedding (Denmark)

This is a Danish movie that’s kind of soap-opera-ish. But it works beautifully and is very involving.

4. The Bourne Ultimatum (USA)

What can I say? It has been said already.

5. No Country for Old Men (USA)

Not for the faint of heart. Brutal and unrelenting. But exquisitely made.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Movies of 2007

  1. Christian Bale is brilliant. I need to remember to see that one. This is sad, but the Bourne Ultimatum is the only on on this list that I have actually seen. I need to watch some more of these on here, but I agree that the Bourne one is a top five type movie. I saw so many mediocre movies last year, that I may not even be able to come up with a top five….

  2. OK , I rented your movie. ONCE is just lovely. Dublin town & the people seem so natural, gritty & real. Simple everyday life situations (genuinely good people stuck in a rut.) The Girl is hopeful in bringing a lil’ sunshine his way and the Guy is a good enough bloke to accept it and look what changes! How adorable is she dragging that hoover down the street?! Que genial! Me gusta mucho tu recomendacion. (’-’*)

Leave a Reply

