“The Sandman”, via E.T.A. Hoffman, Sigmund Freud and… Rich Ragsdale

I have been teaching E.T.A. Hoffman’s “The Sandman” and Freud’s “The Uncanny” in my Sumer Intersession course and just found this brilliant film by Rich Ragsdale, a film maker out of Venice, California. I tip my hat to Mr. Ragsdale for this film, it’s truly magnificent and I can’t wait to share it with my students. Here’s Mr. Ragsdale’s youtube homepage.

[Youtube="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mqcx6r57GRI"]

4 thoughts on ““The Sandman”, via E.T.A. Hoffman, Sigmund Freud and… Rich Ragsdale

  1. thank you so much for the link. Just finished reading the sandman (in hebrew….) and loved this short film.

  2. I am a psychoanalytic student at the NJ Institute for Psychoanalysis. I stumbled across your web page as a result of my new found interest in ETA Hoffman. I recently wrote a analysis of The Nutcracker (ballet) which will apparently be published soon in a local psychoanalytic journal. I have since become more and more interested in ETA Hoffman and was pleasantly surprised to see Freud was also however briefly, interested in his work. I have not yet read the Sandman but intend to. Thanks for putting this up.

  3. I am psychoanalytic student at the NJ Institute for Psychoanalysis. I stumbled across your web site as a result of my new found interest in ETA Hoffman. I recently wrote a psychoanalytic analysis of the Nutcracker (ballet) due to be published soon with a local psychoanalytic journal. As I traced the story back to Hoffman I was pleasantly surprised to find that Freud was also interested in Hoffman. I have not yet read the Sandman but intend to. Thanks for putting this up.

  4. I am a final year Fine Art Student in Cambridge, UK. My current practice is the search for alternative taxonomies of dyke identity and trans- issues. I have stumbled across Hoffman via research on the uncanny…thank you for posting Ragsdale’s video – blew me away!

Leave a Reply

