More on The Tempest at the Novello

A while back I made a post on the production of The Tempest at the Novello Theater. In it I discussed Giles Cadle’s set design and even drew a picture of the concept of the first scene in Act I.

A few days ago I was looking for paintings by the German Romantic painter Caspar David Friedrich to show my students and I came across this painting by Friedrich, “The Wreck of the Hope” (1824):

This image is strikingly similar to the main set piece for Prospero’s Island. I’d be very surprised if it were not based on this painting. Very surprised.

Well, just thought I would mention it, for posterity.

Leave a Reply

